Committee on European Affairs and Oversight of the European Funds

(Комисия по европейските въпроси и контрол на европейските фондове)

Composition: 18 Members

The Committee on European Affairs and Oversight of the European Funds was established at the end of July 2009 with the new term of the Narodno sabranie (41st National Assembly). The Committee was originally established in 2001 during the 39th term of the Narodno sabranie as a Committee on European Integration (CEI) and had 24 members. The main goal of the CEI was to formulate and to carry out the European integration policy of the Republic of Bulgaria (the negotiation process for EU membership started in February 2000).

The mechanism for parliamentary monitoring and control of European Union affairs is outlined in Chapter 10 of the Rules of Procedure of the Narodno sabranie. For more information on the EU Scrutiny model of the Bulgarian Narodno sabranie click here.

For more information on EU affairs in the Bulgarian Parliament click here.