The Constitution of 4 October 1958 (the Constitution of the Fifth Republic) was adapted to new powers accorded by the Treaty of Lisbon to national Parliaments in 2008, before the ratification of the Treaty was completed, with the introduction of two new Articles: 88-6 and 88-7. Article 88-6 deals with the check on the compliance of EU draft legislative acts with the principle of subsidiarity and the possibility of bringing an action before the Court of Justice; while Article 88-7 focuses on the “rights accorded to national Parliaments regarding the use of “passerelle clauses” to initiate a simplified revision of the Treaties, and judicial cooperation in civil matters”.


Assemblée nationale


Committee on European Union
(Commission des affaires européennes)

Legal base: Article 88-4 of the French Constitution

Composition: 48 Members

The increasing influence of European construction over Member States' national legislation led to the creation on 6 July 1979, in each of Chamber of the French Parliamant, of a Delegation for the European Union. The Delegation's first remit was to inform the Assemblée nationale of European Union work, particularly by publishing information reports. Since the constitutional amendment of 1992 prior to ratification of the Maastricht Treaty, this general information remit has been combined with a duty to scrutinise, upstream, Community legislation, pursuant to Article 88-4 of the Constitution. 
For more information click here.

The Committee on European Affairs was established under the Constitutional Law of 23 July 2008. The Committee substituted the Delegation for the European Union.

Chapter IX of the Rules of Procedure of the Assemblée nationale - European Affairs (in French)





Committee for European Union
(Commission des affaires européennes)

Legal base: Article 88-4 of the French Constitution.

Composition: 36 Senators 

Established under the Constitutional law of 23 July 2008, the Committee substituted the Delegation of the Sénat for the European Union (Délégation du Sénat pour l'Union européenne) established on 6 July 1979.


The Committee plays an important role in the process of scrutinising European affairs. The main task of the Committee is to systematically review EU texts before they are adopted by the EU institutions.


A scrutiny reserve system was introduced on 19 July 1994 by a circular of the Prime Minister. The system is respected by the government.

For more information click here.