Committee on European Affairs

(Europos reikalų komitetas)

Legal base: Statute of the Seimas (As amended by 15 March 2012 No XI-1933), the Law on Government of the Republic of Lithuania, The Decree No. 21 of the Government of the Republic of Lithuania dated 9 January 2004 and the Constitutional Act of the Republic of Lithuania of 13 July 2004 "On Membership of the Republic of Lithuania in the European Union" which is the legal basis for the coordination of European affairs.

Composition: The Committee on European Affairs is currently composed of 21 Members. However, the rules or procedure lay down that the committee shall be composed of not less than 15 and not more than 25 Members of the Seimas in accordance with a principle of proportional representation of the Seimas' parliamentary groups.

The Committee on European Affairs can act on behalf of the Seimas in EU matters. It may, when necessary, express the opinion of the Seimas to the Lithuanian Government on EU proposals. The Committee may examine and present conclusions on all EU proposals - except proposals within the domain of CFSP, which are dealt with by the Committee on Foreign Affairs. The Committee on European Affairs also evaluates the Government’s presentation of its position in the institutions of the European Union. The scrutiny made by the Committee is to a large extent based on the recommendations of the specialised committees of the Seimas.
Lithuania has a scrutiny reserve system that is politically binding. The Committee on European Affairs or the Committee on Foreign Affairs may obligate Ministers to express the parliamentary reservation in Council with regard to the issues marked by a committee as “very relevant” or “relevant”. This system started functioning after the Statute of the Seimas was amended on 9 November 2004 and has been strictly observed.

For more information click here.