Committee on EU Affairs

(Riksdagens EU-nämnden)

Legal base: Riksdag Act (RO), Chapter 10.

The Riksdag is to play a central role in Sweden's handling of EU issues. The Riksdag is able to exercise an influence at an early stage of the EU decision-making process. EU issues are integrated into the Riksdag's everyday activities. The sectoral committees examine and write statements on the EU's Green and White Papers and other EU documents. The Government confers with the specialised committees at the early stage of the parliamentary process and the Government's consultations with the Committee on EU Affairs are to concern decisions in the Council of Ministers.

Composition: The Committee on EU Affairs is according to the Riksdag Act composed of: "an odd number, not less than 15". Currently the Committee is composed of 17 Members from the 7 political parties represented in the Parliament – as is the case with the sectoral committees in the Riksdag. The Committee on EU Affairs differs from the sectoral committees by having a larger number of alternates in order to be able to cover all EU cooperation field. There are at presently 42 deputy Members in the Committee on EU Affairs. All sectoral committees are represented in the Committee on EU Affairs.

The primary role of the Committee on EU Affairs is to formulate a mandate on the basis of the Government’s proposed position for negotiations in the Council. It is the Government’s duty to comply with that mandate. Although the mandate is not formally binding but only politically, it is normally very strictly observed by the Government. There have only been a few cases to the contrary.

For more information about the handling of EU matters in the Riksdag click here, and for more information about the Committee on EU Affairs click here